Toyota Rav4 EV Forum

It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:13 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Used RAV4 EVs in NY state
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:26 pm 

Hi everyone,
I just signed up here. I am currently 5 years into leasing a Honda FIT EV, which I love, except for the drastic range drop in our cold northeast winters. Today I took our Prius to the local Toyota dealer (Middletown NY) for service and was stunned to see 3 RAV4 EVs for sale, from 27 to 37K miles, all at $20,987. Am I nuts to think this is an insanely good deal?

I am a knowledgeable EV driver and I have been reading the threads here so am aware of the technical issues that have come up with the RAV4. Obviously I am concerned about service and warranty here on the east coast and will certainly ask a lot of questions of the dealer. My preference would be to lease.

Does anyone know why they would ship 3 back east?

I would appreciate any advice you could give me.

Much obliged,
Drew

Post subject: Re: Used RAV4 EVs in NY state
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:45 pm 

The price seems higher than what I have hear. I would expect $15 - $18k. I'm sure the sales staff will tell you that there will not be any issues for service or warranty, but it is possible you will find out otherwise later. Does the price include a Toyota used car warranty? If so then it might be worthwhile otherwise I would look around and compare prices. Jimbo69 will likely comment about service in your area, I believe he is or was in the NY area.

8/12/14 RAV4 EV #3008, Blizzard Pearl
9kW Solar Electric System
SDGE TOU metering
OpenEVSE 40 amp

"Aquaponics...solar-powered nanotechnology that produces fresh vegetables and meat, while purifying water..." - Rick Op, Houston Texas.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:26 pm 

For that price, I would definitely have them include the 5 year 60,000 mile Toyota Used Car Platinum Service Agreement.