EVSE for home/travel

Toyota Rav4 EV Forum

Help Support Toyota Rav4 EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cebufunk

I am a very proud new papa of a 2013 RAV4EV. Part of the sale included the 120 voltage EVSE cord. I plugged it into my car last night at 10 PM (the battery pack was near 0% - 4 miles left). At 1 PM today, the battery is charged for 55 miles and it looks like I'll need another 19 hours to get it to 100%.

I checked my home's breaker box and low and behold, I have a 60 amp (two 30 amp) breakers (used for my dryer) available. Any suggestions on a "reasonably priced" EVSE that I can purchase that won't take 32 hours to charge the car?

Thanks all!

I have been using the Schneider Electric EV230WS for about 3 years now without any issues.
http://www.amazon.com/Schneider-Electric-EV230WS-Generation-Enhanced/dp/B00CXXCVLI/ref=sr_1_31?ie=UTF8&qid=1456784006&sr=8-31&keywords=evse

I also like the Seimens EVSE, but I chose the Schneider electric over Siemens due to the fact that the delay is 1 hour increments on the Schneider vs. 2 hour increments on the Siemens.

The are both 30 amps, so you will be at 7KW + charging...