EV Rookie: Timeline Help

Toyota Rav4 EV Forum

Help Support Toyota Rav4 EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gov

Thanks to everyone that has posted on this forum. Your insights have been very helpful. I'm new to the EV world and have lots of questions. I live in the Bay Area and I have a 78 mile roundtrip commute into SF. I've test driven the BMW I3, Mercedes B Class, Leaf, Model S, and the Rav4 EV. IMO the Rav4 has the greatest amount of value for my needs and commute.

I've read quite a bit about the Lease vs. Purchase. It seems the lease is the better option for me as I am looking at the Rav4 as a stop gap between now and a Tesla Model X or III. I want to save on gas and enjoy the carpool lane. I have never leased a car before so I know I sound "green" but need some facts as the Toyota Dealers I have worked with give lots of contradicting answers.

Leasing Questions...

What have most of you paid for your lease? (I saw mentioned a no money down recommendation)
What happens if the car breaks down during the lease? Is that covered?
What happens if the car shows wear and tear (Have 3 small kids) after the 36 month lease? Charged for it?
Did you have to pay Disposition Fee of $500?

Now for the Timeline questions...

After you sign the lease what is the process?
- Did you pay DMV fees at dealership? If so how much?
- How long to get the white HOV sticker?
- How long does it take to get a charger installed? Permits?
- Anyone recommend an installer/electrician in Fairfield area? Price?
- Can you get your car serviced at a different toyota dealership? How often does car need to be serviced?