How to modify JuiceBox firmware

Toyota Rav4 EV Forum

Help Support Toyota Rav4 EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dsinned

The software side is fairly "technical". If you know anything about C programming you should be able to understand it. I am NOT a programmer, so I find it difficult to understand, but there are enough "comments" in the JB's firmware source code to help figure it out. MINOR modifications are not overly difficult to make yourself, although there is most definitely a "learning curve".

The Arduino platform and application programming for it is generally used by DIY "hobbyist", so it is not meant to be overly difficult to learn. But, if you have no software programming experience whatsoever, it can be formidable. I had a few Basic programming classes in college, but never learned a high level language like C++. I did, however, dabble in 8 bit microprocessor machine code programming at one time, which taught me about "source code" and compiling to create "executable" code. I learned enough to be able to modify an existing program such as used by the Juicebox, provided the original source code is well documented, and thankfully it is, fairly so, by eMW. I believe the JB code was written with the virtues of "open source" in mind, and therefore intended to be more easily modified by end users. But, sometimes, I think the original programmer "assumes" too much for the sake of others who may want to understand the code to make custom modifications themselves.